Bill Prevents DOJ from Regulating Use in States with Medical Marijuana Laws

Last weekend, the Senate Appropriations Committee passed an Amendment to HR 83. Specifically, Sec. 538 on page 213 states that the Department of Justice (DOJ) cannot use any of their funds to prevent states with current medical marijuana laws from implementing their own state laws that authorize the use, distribution, possession, or cultivation of medical marijuana. Therefore, marijuana dispensaries in those states are safe from being raided by federal DOJ agents for the cultivation or sale of marijuana through September 2015, when the amendment expires.

These states include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Read the entire bill here.